What Robin Williams Meant to Us

As news reports on Facebook, twitter, blogs, TV shows and the news are now in the millions by now, I still want to add my thoughts to my own blog about the very tragic death of Robin Williams and what he meant to mine and my girls’ lives.

I was just heartsick to learn of his suicide yesterday (which was also on the 16 month day of my Kaitlyn’s suicide). I first became aware of Robin Williams in his role of Mork on “Mork and Mindy.” I was around 18 years old when that came out. Then he went on to do numerous movies for the big screen. He fully became ingrained into our systems when my two daughters Stephanie and Kaitlyn were children. Oh there was the Disney animation of “Aladdin” with him playing the genie which was nothing less than genius. There was “Mrs. Doubtfire” which I’m sure that my girls must hold the world record of the number of times it was watched by anyone. Many of his lines are still forever in my mind…..”It was a run by fruiting!!” When Kaitlyn became a teenager we all became aware of his more serious roles such as our favorites, “Good Will Hunting” “What Dreams May Come” “Dead Poets Society” and “Patch Adams” just to name a few. He could play a serious role every bit as well as a funny role.

And his humor was unlike any I’ve ever seen before. He was like a funny train that just could not stop. But he did stop.

When Kaitlyn died his movies even took on even more significance as they did before. With “Good Will Hunting” he was the psychologist trying to help this young genius who was rebellious and did not want to reach his potential because of his past. In “Dead Poets Society” he was a teacher and it was about poetry and how much meaning and importance it has in one’s life. Kaitlyn loved poetry. In “What Dreams May Come” he played a man who lost his two children in an auto accident, then HE gets killed leaving his wife alone and depressed. She ultimately took her life and he left to “save her….” Kaitlyn loved this movie. I think she loved the romance of it, how someone could love someone so much to take such measures to save the one they loved. I don’t think she focused on the suicide, which this movie portrayed as anything but something that should be done. I never really liked the movie all that well as I told Kaitlyn I just thought it was too weird. But she loved it. It was the DVD that was left in her DVD player when I brought it home from her apartment after she died.

So, Robin Williams meant a lot to me and to my girls for many, many reasons. I know some people criticize that everyone is now acting like we actually knew him personally, that we didn’t truly know him and have no right to act as if we do. But there is nothing wrong with admiring someone so much that we mourn their loss, whether we knew them personally or not.

I have always known that Robin Williams suffered from mental illness but I always thought it was bipolar disorder. No one is mentioning now that he had this. Maybe I was misinformed. But we do know for sure he suffered from depression, and strangely not many seemed to know that even though he never hid that fact and talked about it numerous times.

There is only one positive that has come out of his death, and I hesitate to say there is anything positive about it at all. I had much rather it had not happened to him, to my daughter, or to anyone else. But I have found now that depression and bipolar disorder are now being talked about VERY freely since this happened to him. And what’s more, there is CORRECT information being given out there about depression and what it really is; a disease, a serious one that can kill you, NOT a weakness. Also that suicide can strike anyone that has these illnesses no matter who you are, how much money you have, no matter how famous you are, no matter how intelligent and gifted you are, no matter how bright your future, no matter your race, gender or social status. It can happen to ANYONE.

And no, it’s not that Robin Williams was more important than anyone else that has taken their own life, but perhaps his fame will help spread the truth about depression and more people will feel freer to seek help. I think he would like that.

I am saddened by his loss. There will never be another like him.

And Robin (if I may be so bold as to call you by your first name), please say hi to my daughter Kaitlyn for me.

Just a very few of my favorite scenes from some of his movies:

Below: Mrs. Doubtfire

Next two below…love the skeleton scenes in Patch Adams:

Below: Dead Poets Society

Below: Good Will Hunting

And finally, though there is so much more….there’s “Aladdin.” This is fantastic.

Rest in Peace Robin Williams.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Robin Williams Meant to Us

  1. robin1967 says:

    Love this post, very well said. Thanks for including the clips of his work- some of my favorites also

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I don’t know why the skelton scenes don’t work once I posted them here. They work on youtube. Those were some of my favs.

    Like

  3. Lisa Soles says:

    Aunt Rhonda, they confirmed he was bi-polar and was being treated and medicated for it. It’s just so sad!

    Like

  4. Marie says:

    He was bipolar… depression is a huge part of bipolar. I have bipolar and I am severely depressed about 99% of the time. It is a horrible horrible thing … and it is so hard to watch suicide being talked about so much as it is a trigger for me, and yet I am like yes, yes talk about it! People need to know that others feel this way too! It is a real thing! People commit suicide every day and no one seems to notice, not until someone famous does it. I hate that this happened and I loved Robin Williams, but I do hope that this brings more awareness. You are right, it can happen to ANYONE.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gatito2 says:

    I thought he was Lisa. It is so very sad.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I agree Marie. I also know that bipolar disorder is a very serious disease and the lows are horrible and the manic episodes can range from all kinds of behaviors. I’m sorry all of this has been a trigger for you. But like you, I hope that at least this brings more awareness. I hate that it happened too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with your feeling that suddenly it’s ok to talk about depression and suicide. I have a feeling that this will only last for a short while, so while we can, we should spread the word to as many people as we can that depression (and other associated illnesses like bipolar and substance abuse) is a serious illness and suicide can be a terrible and deadly symptom. Maybe awareness will help people bring this in to the light and not be afraid to share how they are feeling. And maybe that will help them feel less hopeless and desparate.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    I agree and like you, I hope this conversation is not just a passing thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

