My Epiphany

I’ve had a very complicated day where I have felt hopeful, scared, mad, sad, excited all in one rollercoaster ride.

It started out early this morning with my one hour drive to see my psychologist to start my first session of EMDR. I heard it was very hard at first because she makes me live through in my mind and tell her what I saw and how I felt about the worst thing that keeps running around in my head like a movie that won’t cut off. There’s many horrible things, but I had to choose the most traumatic so she can kind of de-program those horrible thoughts into something manageable. I didn’t really worry about this as I write a lot of things that just thinking about them upset me, but writing about them relieves some of the pressure. It was harder than I thought. More about that later.

So as I drive this one hour drive, as I always do I do a lot of thinking and my plans to go back to work and all. Then my mind moved to the thought of just how angry I have been with God ever since Kaitlyn died. I know some of you will cringe at that, but it’s the truth. I think God would understand. I’ve been angry with him because my prayers did not come true to help keep my children safe and let them make good decisions. I wondered after Kaitlyn died, what’s the point in praying? It must make no difference. I’ve also been angry that he did not send his angels to put that thought into Kaitlyn’s head in her time of despair that life might just be worth fighting for. I know some that have been saved from the brink of suicide by “some quiet but strong voice” or feeling. Why did this not happen with Kaitlyn? People keep telling me that God can’t interfere with free will. But my daughter was ill and did not have rational thinking at the time….she did this of her free will, but she was sick. Why couldn’t he interfere with that? And don’t get me started on how I feel about all the injustices and horrible things that happen in this world and the evil that some people do. I won’t even go into that, but that has nothing to do with this point I’m trying to make.

I’ve been angry with God for a long time now. But on the drive to my appointment I had this thought occur to me; I’m being angry at the one being that I hope with all my heart that Kaitlyn is with. I hope she is in His presence surrounded by peace, happiness and love. How can I be angry at him when with him is where I so want her to be?

Then I began to think about what people have always said about forgiveness. Even if someone has done something horrible to someone you love or to you, the only way for you to feel any better is to forgive that person because if you don’t, you won’t be hurting them, but hurting yourself. All that anger just festers up inside of you until it turns you into something you don’t want to be. And the more I thought about it the more I thought what is the use in being mad at God? If I continue to be angry with him, I will turn into a very bitter and angry woman for the rest of my life and I don’t want that.

I have always cringed at the platitudes (well that’s what I always thought they were) that well-meaning people would tell me like, “It was God’s will” or “we will all know his plan one day” and those kinds of things. But the truth of it is, I don’t know his plans, none of us do and I have to think that in the grand scheme of things that somehow everything will fit and make sense. Not on this earth, but the existence we have when we die. I hope to God that there must have been some plan in mind for my Kaitlyn and that now she is, like she said in a visitation dream, “exactly where I’m supposed to be.” I have to cling to this. That’s not to mean to sound like I think suicide should be a reason to get to a happier place. Suicide is the result of a very depressed mind and not some grand plan or wonderful escape. But I’m going to have to trust in God now to take care of my Kaitlyn until I am able to see her again. I refuse to think that she no longer exists somewhere. Our soul never dies.

I’m not sure I might not think something entirely different tomorrow, but for today, my heart is softening in my feelings about God. I don’t know the answers to everything no matter how hard I try to ponder them out. So I will just have to let those questions go or they will drive me crazy.

I’ve not accepted her death. I’m so very sad to have lost her and especially that she suffered the way she did in silence. But the only comfort I have is that I will see her again. I have to cling to that.

So during my session with my psychologist and talking about the visions that I have that so disturb me (I would tell you what they are but that might trigger someone or something), I could barely talk about it for crying so hard. It was excruciatingly painful. So painful that for me, a person who has written volumes about my daughter and talk about her freely, this thing that I had to explain I could barely get out of my mouth and I cried so hard. I don’t like to cry in front of people. Not because I’m ashamed or think it a weakness, I just feel uncomfortable crying in front of people. But in the long run she will work with me to make those horrible visions be more tolerable. So I will continue.

After having such an epiphany on the way to the psychologist about God, I was feeling pretty good. After my appointment with the psychiatrist I was pretty traumatized, weak and exhausted. I cried half the way home as I drove. Then I heard the song that I so love and that has always given me such hope since it came out after Kaitlyn died.

I will see you again Kaitlyn. This is just for you.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Epiphany

  1. I would say sorry for your loss but you must be tired of hearing it by now. I love this song by Carrie Underwood. Her live performance of it during one of the Award shows was amazing. She has great vocals. I know you know that I suffer from chronic suicidal thoughts, I am currently inpatient as those thoughts got out of hand. Reading your blog always comforts me in knowing I made the right decision by being in the hospital than something else that could harm myself. Thank you for this blog. Mike

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Mike I never tire of hearing “I’m sorry for your loss.” Those words are meant to comfort and they do comfort me and I thank you. I’m glad you are in a place that can help you. If it were not for those places I would not still be here. Let them help you.

    Like

  3. jean merritt says:

    Rhonda, it is perfectly natural and normal to be angry with God. Be angry as long as you need to be. He can take it. I’m sure there will probably always be some anger there and we certainly don’t understand the reason for such atrocities. But this much I do know He does love us and yes you will see Him and Kaitlyn again. Still praying for you. Keep fighting this battle my friend. I know with His help you can win.

    Sent from my iPad, Jean Merritt

    Like

  4. pctmom815 says:

    Rhonda,
    I am very sorry for your loss.. I too lost my child in 2012.. I too was very angry at God.. What helped me start turning around was when I finally surrendered her back to God. She was a gift to me for however long it was. I can not undo what was done. All I could do was find me again. It was then that I started healing. We will see our girls again. They are happy and pain free where they are.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    I agree. Thank you so much.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Jean. I am trying so hard.

    Like

  7. jmgoyder says:

    I hope you know how much I follow and admire you Rhonda,

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I’m just trying to live somehow. Thank you so very much.

    Like

  9. edgarone2 says:

    I believe that peace and forgiveness go together.We have hope because we have faith.

    Like

  10. gatito2 says:

    Thank you for those thoughts.

    Like

  11. Nancy says:

    Hello Rhonda :). I feel you’ve made some real progress here in your evolving attitude towards God. Of course you felt/feel tremendous anger at Him. If he is all powerful, why can’t He stop suffering? That is the central mystery of all religious faith.

    You have made the only choice that will help give you some peace, which is to forgive. As you see so perceptively, forgiveness is as much for the forgiver as the forgiven. And you’re so right in your belief that Kaitlyn is safe and sheltered with God until you can meet her again. I believe you will see her again with all my heart.

    Are you still seeing the psychologist? Is the technique she is using the one with the eye movement? I’m sorry it was so painful for you. Do you think you this woman will be able to help you more in future?

    Take care,

    Nancy

    Like

  12. gatito2 says:

    Thanks Nancy. I had to let go of my anger at God or it would continue to eat me alive. And yes, forgiveness I think is actually more for the person that is doing the forgiving for the same reason as letting go of anger.

    I have only done one EMDR session with my psychologist so far and that was last week. This week we just talked, especailly about my going back to work, which she thinks is a good idea. But there is a huge level of apprehension for me, as well as good feelings mixed in. I will have another EMDR session next week. I really like this psychologist a lot. She doesn’t placate me with sentences like “oh you’re doing so good, you can get out of the bed in the morning.” If she had said this I would have walked out the door. She is not like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

