Poem for Kaitlyn from her sister Stephanie

My daughter Kaitlyn was my oldest daughter Stephanie’s only sibling. Stephanie is 27, Kaitlyn was 23. Stephanie is also devasted by her loss and we all love to write to get our feelings out, Kaitlyn did as well. Stephanie wrote this poem today for her sister and I wanted everyone to see it. I think it’s beautiful.

This is a poem that I just wrote for you, Kaitlyn Elkins. It’s called “Dragonfly.” by Stephanie Alford

Your beautiful, albescent skin
Never again to see the sun’s rays
My tears cut my own skin
Like mini scalpels
When I reminisce of you
My entire body shakes
As I weep
My mourning is from
The depths of my soul
It can find no solace
Except for mere fragments
Of our times together
Times when I could protect you
But from this
I could not save you
And it kills me as well
The words of your letter
Bruise the skin of my own psyche
Purple, like lilacs
Covering my skin
My heart feels atrophied, almost
Yet I can still feel it
Only as it breaks
Into those fragments
That will forever remain shattered
I know I’ll do well in life
Because your letter told me so
It’s all I have left
I can’t let you down
My precious dragonfly
One day soon, we’ll soar together

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem for Kaitlyn from her sister Stephanie

  1. Topaz says:

    Rhonda, at times I feel so horrible — almost like I’m eavesdropping on something that’s none of my business. But the more I read, the more I feel like I’m part of your family. Thank you so much for sharing.

    I hope this doesn’t upset you, but I sent Kaitlyn a friend request on FB today to do my part in keeping her memory alive. Let me know and I can retract it.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Please don’t ever feel like your are eavesdropping on anything I put here. I write here for myself, to help keep Kaitlyn’s memory alive, to try to help others, and for as many people to read as possible. I welcome your reading of my blog and your friendship. I don’t mind your sending Kaitlyn a friend request, but unfortunately, she won’t be there to accept it and it will go on being in her request box. But that is ok, I think the thought is so very nice and I thank you. And you can post on my facebook any time.

    Like

Leave a comment