Author Blog Hop

Author Blog Hop-Who I Am

Thank you to http://www.jumbledwriter.com/ for letting me participate in this blog hop. I’m not a professional writer, but since I write a little he was gracious enough to invite me to do this fun thing.

Blog Hop

What I Am Working On Now: I have just finished a book about the suicide of my daughter Kaitlyn which occurred on 4-11-13. I am currently waiting to receive my proof copy to read over and then it will be available for sale on amazon.com in paperback and Kindle.

It is a book about my gifted daughter who was a 3rd year medical student and never showed signs of depression. It’s a story about her life and death and my quest to find answers. The book is titled: ” My Bright Shining Star: A Mother’s True Story of Brilliance, Love & Suicide.”

Here is the back cover blurb:

“To everyone who knew her, Kaitlyn Elkins was a happy, intelligent, compassionate and extremely talented young medical student with a bright future ahead. However, behind her warm smile and string of impressive achievements lurked a dark secret – depression; something that she hid so well from all those who knew and loved her.

This is the story about a mother’s quest to find some answers into how her daughter, who seemed so happy on the outside, could hide such a dark, horrible depression that ultimately led to her suicide. It is a story about her wonderful daughter’s life, the lives she touched, the search for answers, the stigma of mental illness, the great love and closeness they shared, and a warning to parents, teachers, counselors and young people that there is often depression that is hidden among very high achieving people, that they hide it expertly and if not reported and treated, can lead to suicide.

It is a warning to everyone.”

I have also written a fictional short story which I felt driven to do right in the middle of writing this book. As of now it is not edited and once it is, I don’t quite know what I will do with it. It is too short to be published as a book. It’s titled: “A Journey in the Spring.”

How My Work Differs From Others: My work differs from the majority of books out there because it deals with suicide which is usually the result of severe depression or other mental illness.

Why I Write What I Do: Actually, this book will be my first publication other than a couple of articles years ago in camping magazines. I don’t profess to be a writer and my education on writing consists of the three English courses I took in college. I have always loved to write but have not ever pursued it seriously. The reason I wrote my book is because I have a very important message to send to the world and that is the tragedy and huge increase in suicide today and how it can be so totally hidden from everyone until it’s too late. Also, I felt compelled by some force to write this book. It just flowed out of me.

How My Writing Process Works: Since this is my first book, I really don’t have a precise process. It started out as being pieces written in a blog that I have in order to release some of my pain into words. Then as the idea to write a book evolved I incorporated a very few of my blog posts and built my story around it from her life, her achievements, her beauty as a person, writings from people who knew her, professionals who told their own stories of depression, etc. I also included a picture of a self-Portrait she drew and some of her writings and poetry. I included many pictures as well. I did have a vision of how my book would start and how it would end. I wanted to make sure I had some professional input into my book as well and incorporated it into the story that was her life.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Author Blog Hop

  1. Looking forward to reading your book!

    Like

  2. Uncle Spike says:

    You are a star too Rhonda

    Like

  3. mewhoami says:

    A book in which the words flow when written, is a book that has a purpose. It’s wonderful that you are reaching out beyond your reach, to those who need this.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much. It was amazing how this book just flowed.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Aww…thank you.

    Like

  6. Keep writing. You are articulate, you share emotion, real and raw- and you write about a subject that most put away or know nothing about… its part of your journey to share… it’s part of your daughter’s gift that you share and change…

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. You have no idea how good that made me feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

