In Remembrance of Kaitlyn Elkins by Wake Forest School of Medicine

Every long once in a while, I like to put this link up that Wake Forest School of Medicine made on their online newsletter in memory of Kaitlyn. It continuously runs on that newsletter. They created a fund for their Wellness Center to give more resources and help for those students there that experience depression and make it easier for them to access these resources without fear of bad consequences to their education and career. They are trying and taking steps and have actually hired another psychologist for that sole purpose.

I myself, will give to this cause every year so hopefully what happened to Kaitlyn will never happen to another medical student at Wake Med. If any of you have a few dollars to give (does not have to be much, or as much as you want) it would be wonderful to me and the rest of our family if you would honor Kaitlyn by a donation if you can.

If not, simply click on this link and read the dedication to Kaitlyn and look at some of her art and poetry and a few lines from classmates (which to me are rather sad and made me know how lonely my daughter may have been).

I hope medical schools continue to make things better for their medical students, to make better the horribly isolating and stressful environment that they live in which causes much depression. Not that Kaitlyn ever mentioned anything about that, it is still true as I’ve heard from many med students and doctors that it is true…

I’ve heard from some physicians that they would not wish being a doctor in this day and age on their worst enemy as being a doctor is nothing like it once was. They once had respect, did not have to be at the mercy of insurance companies and ridiculous malpractice premiums, get sued at the drop of a hat, and try to cram in as many patients as humanly possible, not because that is what they want, but because that is what they have to do to even make money. And the list goes on and on and on.

If I had known what being a physician means in this day and age, I would have gotten down on my hands and knees and begged Kaitlyn not to go into such a field instead of the few talks I gave her about “well you know med school is horribly hard, residency is a torture chamber and being a doctor consumes your life.” I would have done more than that…I would have begged her to do something else. Whether that would have made a difference or not, I don’t know because Kaitlyn was very strong willed. We won’t have any good doctors in America one day the way things are going. Then what will we do?

http://www.wakehealth.edu/Oasis/Remembering-Kaitlyn-Elkins.htm

wake forest

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Remembrance of Kaitlyn Elkins by Wake Forest School of Medicine

  1. Author Catherine Townsend-Lyon says:

    Hello Rhonda,
    Sorry it’s been to long since I have last visited, but hope you know you are always in my Heart & Prayers. What a beautiful Honor & Tribute you have shared here via Wake Forest. And the sketch takes my breath away.
    I hope you don’t mind if I share on my recovery blog. In the wake of the passing of Robin Williams, it seems fitting that we all remember your daughter as one of those who were NOT in the headlines or news, and should be Honored & Always Remembered…..
    Such a beautiful post.
    God Bless,
    Author, Catherine Lyon 🙂 XOXO

    Like

  2. Pingback: “We Shall Never Forget Her, A Bright Shining Star”~In Remembrance Of Kaitlyn… | Recovery Journey And Ramblings Of Author Catherine Lyon

  3. Author Catherine Townsend-Lyon says:

    I just shared my feelings and reblogged your beautiful post here on my recovery blog. I also added a little “promo” about your book too! Hope all is well your way Rhonda! 🙂 XO
    *Catherine* 🙂

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Catherine. You need not apologize about not visiting for a while. Sometimes I go a while without visiting my favorite blogs for one reason or another.

    I would be VERY happy for you to share my post on your blog anywhere you want to. I never mind anyone doing this at all, but love to know when it’s done so I can see where it goes. So share away and thank you for remembering my Kaitlyn.

    Rhonda

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you…she is, always has been, inside and out.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you SO very much Catherine. I appreciate that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Neal says:

    I gave this year too and I’ll give to that fund as long as I’m able.

    I’m glad wake has taken action. I wish they never had to.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Neal. I knew that you had given this year as they send me the name of whoever contributes when they contribute unless they do it anonymously and it that case it says “anonymous.” I just don’t ever know the amount which shows good taste on their part. 🙂 I wanted to thank you….but did not know if you wanted me to know. So I will thank you now. I know you do so much in her memory.

    Like

  9. gatito2 says:

    and also I wish Wake never had to do that either.

    Like

Leave a comment